BURIED IN THE LEAVES

It grows
swells within me and
swallows me whole.
With possibilities
sold on the solid ground
beneath me feet and bold.
Facing the day as no one
could have foretold.
 
Console me with the
complimentary sighs
that breach each breath
and whisper to me
good try.
Try another, keep plundering
deeper inside.
my mind has many bright things
left to hide.
 
Crumpled is the paper
I write upon,
wrinkled from misuse
and STILL LIVING ON.
I sought a savior from myself
and in the end I saved me
from everyone else.
 
Misspelled dispelled and suspension
of disbelief
for pretty lies I’ve told myself
have come to pass.
At last I shuffle off the leaves
peer deep into all the hearts crass.

 Image

Leave a Reply

