TRIVIAL PURSUITS

on my own and overblown

my sense of self is drifting into

everything I do

every word I write is automatically me

and everything I do is customized for 

get it fuck it I don’t need to stay

alive anyway I cannot second guess

my reasons are abreast

or pair of such

and I’m sickening 

can you hear me trickling away?

it costs so much to stay awake

a herald for a darker day

away with reason and remorse

I’m me and no one else is

even close

or even close to me

separate my fate from my course

I’m meant to be so much more

than I’m allocated to support 

so no more will I stand aside

off center from being relied upon

denied a frown when needed

bleeding and damned near proud

of all that I’ve become

a survivor fickle above

trivial pursuits 

Leave a Reply

