COFFEE

coffee black from hidden cup

comes taste unexpected rejected and blunt

to lips that yearn for better things

sweet sensations, sugar and cream

and nothing last forever

but would you be so kind

as to sit with me a moment

at the coffee shop inside my mind

where reason sits with fantasy

and flight sips with fight

I cannot bother to be with them

when the air is nice outside

there’s a patio with chairs

and little tables in my mind

where only cool guys sit

and smoke there smokes

dream of days left behind

no more memories for me

I’ll be moving on and forward still

or will I sit here thinking

about sucking ash and sipping

black swill

2 thoughts on “COFFEE

Leave a Reply

