ON MY OWN

2:45
The phone rings
Colleen
I tell her I can’t talk right now
She says
Goodbye Forever
I protest without regret
Playing the game we play
But in earnest
I don’t want to be alone

2:55
I’m off the phone
And straightening up
Aligning objects on my
Desk and putting
Odds and ends
In the trash

3:00
Knock on the door
Maintenance
AC repair men coming
Soon
Can’t wait for them
Can’t hold out forever
CAN’T keep making excuses

3:05
I’m out the door
Passing a gaggle of
AC repair men and women
Why they need so many
I don’t know
Shake a hand
The door’s open
Go right in
Do I need to stay?
The answer is NO
NO excuses

3:10
At the bus stuff
TEXTING…
TEXTING…
TEXTING…
RESPONSE
You can do it
Keep moving
The hardest part
Is showing up

3:22
The bus arrives
I get on
NO EXCUSES
Riding…
Riding…
Riding…
ARRIVING
Walking down the sidewalk
WITHOUT EXCUSES
At the door
Knob turning
Going in
The hardest part
Was showing up

Leave a Reply

