WORKING THE IRON

midnight levity 

never thought I’d need relief from sleep but please

here we are and this is where we’ll be

when I’m done with my dreams

and I’ll chip it off the  block a little chisel that I fuck 

with you to bring anew a new sense of rebellious youth

so tune my fork to splitting hairs and bringing forth

unaccustomed stares 

taking flights when no ones there

and I’m starting to care

bring me down and open up my fountain pen

is just enough

enough of the right stuff

to keep me moving on

ward my path and prop this 

rusty gate open with my boot

and through that space scoot 

through here to being you

if only in my youth

did I call forth this resonant truth

that callous hands with guide my way

work iron till sparks spray today

Leave a Reply

