MATCHES

split foot

half man half beast

when I’m my best I’ll cease

and desist when you insist that I’m creased

I strike a match and set alight a well lit

catastrophe the man in me wants only

what is best for breathing fire

I’m hired to be bored by inflamed desires

and we’re square when I say we are

don’t dare to balk now

blow your chance to take a bow

and strode into the south where the sun

beats down a fleeting

moment of clarity unfair in its brevity

but at least it makes easy

prey of the prayers I speak

and freckles all streak up and mistakes

are half made and underwhelmed

I’m still taking my time

to be well

and well rounded

Leave a Reply

