PLAY BY PLAY

head hits pillow and my heart fills

with distrust and a soliloquy

a song written out in stone of all the

craven things

that man could want or need and I am

pleading with myself to let myself

off the hook for just one night one

time just now let me be and let me be

free of all this anxiety ridden

baser needs and cretinous craven

plead with myself to let myself be at ease

of all the assortment of possibilities of things

that could go wrong and would go wrong with

me at the healm of my own ship

my destiny is to wreck this beast upon

a shore unsure of whether it wants me

so sink or swim I’m going to sleep

if I can just let go of the reigns of me

pains in me the memories

and thoughts of wrongdoing

or doing wrong

released is where I belong

DSC00504

Leave a Reply

