WHERE IS THE BLOOD?

SO I just finished up playing DOOM (2016) and in the middle of Shadow Warrior, and considering that Duke Nukem: Forever is already a thing (albeit not nearly as fucking awesome as the previously mentioned two games) one thought is spinning through  my head: Where is the Blood?

Those three games remain the penultimate FPS experiences for a LOT of people, the earliest and best example of a genre that had nowhere to go but up.  I remember playing Doom and Doom II on janky old charity computers when I was just a kid, and being blown away but the gameplay and ideas therein.  Blood for me will remain my favorite, a mixture of concepts all summoned forth from my favorite horror films and playing out in a glorious 3d interactive game with top of the line (for the time) graphics.  I distinctly remember the cackling voice of the main character, Caleb, spouting off one liners as you chewed through the armies of Technerbog and his nefarious cult, all doned in various colors of robes and ready to take you down.  The references were many, the action was plentiful, and the style was everything I wanted in a game.

So it seems to me that NOW is the time for a current gen HD Blood game.  Barring the existence of Blood II: The Chosen (a sub par game with only the most subtle of callbacks to the original) there hasn’t been a title in this series in decades, and I for one would love to see how it would play out.  Taking on again the role of Caleb, a bad-ass undead gunslinger with a penchant for Bruce Campbell movies, would for me be pure fucking joy.

The voice actor by the way was in an incredibly low budget homage to first person shooters called “FPS”, and it pretty much played out like Blood: The Movie.  It was a mixture of ideas from the genre of horror games and first person shooters alike, and was shot entirely in a first person perspective (the first to do this, sorry Hard Core Henry Fans).  The trailer can be found on youtube, but however, the release was limited and its a bitch to get ahold of in the states.

SO the question remains: Where is Blood?

Give us the full experience, stabbing the fuck out of zombies and cultist alike with a pitch fork, and gunning them down with his iconic range of guns and occult instruments, and the fans will come out of the woodwork and you’ll make millions.  Considering that its basically abandonware at this point, the rights to it could probably be bought up for a half a pack of chewing gum and a slightly dingy nickel.

So give us blood, and I’ll buy it and so will MANY others, and spill some anew!

tumblr_static_caleb.png

 

3 thoughts on “WHERE IS THE BLOOD?

  1. First time I have heard the term Abandonware, makes you feel sorry for the poor little wares :). I was trying to stretch out my gaming life existence. At level 48, I thought I would go to level 50 and abandon gaming. Stayed with The Old Republic for awhile, but just ended up abusing the whippersnappers for their inadequate appreciation of the genre or just generally taking the piss out of anything stupid they said. But if I was honest I was an pretty average player.

    Bought some cheap games on Steam, Asassins Creed – Black Flag, Middle Earth – Shadow of Mordor. But while really good, can’t seem to keep with them, do like the Pinball FX2 though – Star Wars, Alien tables. So I suppose I have to stay alive till VR evolves! Imagine the blood doing VR! You would (meaning me) would be spewing! Not virtually, but for real.

    Anyway, now I might finish the short story I have been thinking about since level 15!

Leave a Reply

